Skip to content

Chicken Soup with Kale & Sweet Potatoes

April 14, 2012

I was at a women’s event at our church and someone brought something similar to this soup. I went home and looked up a recipe on Pinterest and found this. But, oh, there were so many steps! I decided to make my version with a lot of short-cuts.

Chicken Soup with Kale & Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

  • Chopped up carrots, onions and celery (Trader Joe’s sells this & I used the whole container)
  • Chopped up garlic & scallions (Trader Joe’s also sells this & I used about half of the container)
  • Kale (bought a pre-washed & chopped package at Trader Joe’s, used about half the package)
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 2 sweet potatoes, skin removed, cubed
  • Chicken (I had a rotisserie chicken from Costco. I shredded the meat and added about 3 cups to the soup)
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 package of bacon
  • Sale & pepper to taste

And, here is how I made it:

1. Pour 6 cups of broth into crock pot.

2. Sautéed the carrot, onion & celery mix in a pan in some butter. Added it to the crock pot.

3. Sautéed the garlic & scallions in some butter. Added it to the crock pot.

4. Went through the kale and pulled out any tough stems (I don’t like them). I wilted the kale in some water on the stove for a  minute or two. I have no idea if this was necessary or not. I just didn’t want it to be tough in the soup. When finished, I added it to the crock pot.

5. Cubed the sweet potatoes and threw them in the crock pot.

6. Shredded the chicken and added it to the crock pot.

7. Added the nutmeg and small about of salt & pepper to crock pot.

8. Set the crock pot on high. The potatoes were tender in about an hour or so. Then just set the crock pot to warm until dinner time.

Before dinner, I made a package of bacon. I crumbled mine and added it to the soup along with a little Parmesan cheese (suggested in the original recipe). The boys preferred their bacon on the side.  If I was making this for myself only, I would add a jalapeno to the mix for a little spice.

The miracle of the soup is that my kids ate it! DIB (who I am hopeful that I can turn into a little foodie) had two bowls. AIB was much more hesitant but didn’t argue too much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 8:53 pm

    That sounds great – I’d subsitute vegetable stock for the chicken stock and maybe chick peas for the chicken to make it veggie friendly. I have foodie hopes for my son too!

    • April 17, 2012 9:01 pm

      I think that would be great. White beans would make a good substitute for the chicken as well.

Leave a Reply

