Skip to content

Random Snippets

November 28, 2011

The whole blogging thing is going to be sporadic for a while. Here are a few snippets from the past few weeks…

  • A few weeks ago, we took a full-day birthing class. Honestly, I found the whole thing fascinating and really enjoyed it as well as meeting other couples who were due around the same time. I think D enjoyed the class a lot too. The two doulas who taught the class were funny and kept things moving so it didn’t get too boring. And, the graphic videos and images, were kept to a minimum. This past Friday, we have a private “bonus” class with one of the doulas to get some additional information and I am feeling pretty prepared now. I’ve read a few books but I’ve always learned better by what I hear and see so these classes were a great preparation for me and D. Just before Thanksgiving, we toured the birth center so now we actually know where to go at the hospital when the time comes (four weeks to go)!
  • The woman who taught our class has a six-year-old son and mentioned that she got him the Lego Police Station for Christmas. As soon as she said that, I couldn’t help but think about how much our boys would love something like that. I made the mistake of looking up the police station and fire station on Amazon. In total, they are over 1300 pieces of Legos. After talking to D, we decided to go for it and make this the boys “big” present for Christmas (the storage system might be a gift more for me though).

  • As usual, I’ve done most of my Christmas shopping so far online. I ordered the cutest dress-up police costume for our nephew, Shay. It arrived today and D opened the box. As soon as I could see what was in it, I said, “Don’t show that to AIB.” However, he was right there and really wanted to know. We prefaced letting him look by saying this was a gift for his cousin, not for him. And then we talked about how we need to think about others and how important it is to give gifts to those we love. He shook his head and we let him look inside. Immediately, I could tell what he was thinking. We asked him to pretend like he was Shay opening the gift and told him that if he was really nice to Shay and was a good gift-giver, that sometime Shay would probably share it with him. We have a long way to go on teaching the boys to be generous and self-less.
  • We are getting the house ready to add our fifth family member and it seems like there is no end to the work. I’m trying to make peace with the idea that it might not all be done by the time she arrives. But one thing that is the top of my list is to record a new podcast. We have seriously slacked on this and have lots to share about the boys, our “family-versary” and how they are doing. I have a drafted outline and I am hoping by putting this out there that it will get us motivated to sit down and record an episode ASAP.

That is my quick, not-too-exciting update on life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 9:52 pm

    My daughter wants the set you have on the far left and the middle one, somehow lego has always intrigued her but we never really got around to buying anymore new sets 🙂 nice post 🙂

  2. November 28, 2011 11:14 pm

    Here’s my lego advice as an experienced lego mom (my boys are 5 and 7 and have been obsessed with legos for several years now). We tried keeping the legos with their sets and their directions. Just about impossible, as they are played with all over the place and taken apart to make their own creations anyway. We tried sorting by color which worked for a while, but only because I was really determined to use the cute drawer system we’d gotten to sort them into. What I realized was that we were spending WAY too much time sorting them into their colors, when really the boys didn’t look for legos by color anyway. After several hour long lego color sorting sessions, I decided it wasn’t worth it. Now we have a huge plastic bin and all of the legos get dumped in there and everyone is just as happy (and cleaning their room is SO much faster!) Or, when I was little, my mom made a big circle of fabric with a drawstring around the entire circumference, and my brother played legos on that. When he was done, she drew up the drawstring and they were cleaned up. Have fun! We love legos!

Leave a Reply

