Skip to content

Hungry Lady

October 5, 2011

I had a pretty minimal appetite in my first trimester and a normal one in my second. I was hoping that would stay the same but in the last week I have found myself really hungry. I was priding myself a bit on not being the “eating-all-the-time-pregnant-lady” so I’ve been humbled. It goes back to that not wanting to be a cliché thing. It is stupid, I know.

This recipe is known as “Cheryl’s Muffins” among my friends but Cheryl says the original recipe is from Breaking the Vicious Cycle: Intestinal Health Through Diet. Sometimes for those of us who are “intestinal-ly challenged”, it can be hard to find tasty recipes but I love these. Even though I’ve had the muffins a few times, this is the first time I made them. I was looking for a high-fiber, high-protein, gluten-free option to curb my appetitie.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins

  • 5 cups ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 5 eggs
  • *1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • *1 tsp. cinnamon
  • *1/2 bag mini-chocolate chips
  • *1/4 cup ground flax seed

*these are Cheryl’s additions to the original recipe

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (they brown quickly so keep an eye on them…they may need less time).

I bought the almond meal at Trader Joe’s ($3.99 per bag, there are about 4 cups per bag). Others have bought bulk almonds at Costco and ground them up into meal in their food processor but my mini-prep won’t do that and I’m too lazy to add the extra step anyway.  I also used flax seed that also included ground blueberries since it was all Trader Joe’s had when I was buying the ingredients (you can’t taste the blueberries at all). I am planning to add some pureed carrots and/or spinach next time.

I think they are delicious and they make a very filling breakfast.  D liked them (he added a little butter and drank them with a glass of milk). They are not low in calories but they are full of stuff that is good for you.

Twelve more weeks to go!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 12:23 pm

    I’m so glad you were able to make these! I haven’t tried making them yet, but I know how yummy they are. Enjoy…12 more weeks! Crazy.

  2. October 5, 2011 10:08 pm

    Can’t believe it’s only 12 weeks! Can’t wait to meet that sweet girl. Thanks for the recipe. I’ve been slightly obsessed with making really good breakfasts–it seems to make a difference for the whole day.

  3. October 6, 2011 2:40 am

    Those look so delicious! I was humbled today. Fit the stereotype like a puzzle piece. I walked into Target to buy Saltines and Canada Dry. In sweats, no less. So excited for you (and your boys) to meet baby girl!

  4. October 8, 2011 5:04 pm

    I can’t believe you are 12 weeks away!! Yay!! 🙂

  5. October 12, 2011 4:46 pm

    I made them for the first time this week….they are a yummy breakfast as well as a great snack between meals. 12 weeks….I was trying to remember being pregnant with Ryan, what it was like at this time….I just remember carving the pumpkin and taking a picture and thinking, “man my stomach is bigger than this pumpkin!” 🙂

  6. October 13, 2011 2:40 pm

    Remember when you used to blog more frequently? Just teasing… I know you’re busy, pregnant, 2 boys, husband, job, etc. I just miss hearing updates from you. Hope you’re doing well, buddy. 🙂

    • October 13, 2011 2:54 pm

      Oh, I know! I always marvel at how you can get a post out every day. I’ve drafted a few and they end up sound incoherent. I’m working on it though 🙂

Leave a Reply

