Skip to content

Baby Naming

August 30, 2011

I feel like the title is a bit of a tease because we are not actually sharing Baby Girl’s name until she arrives. I feel so smug every time someone asks me if we have a name. In all sincerity, I’m sorry. Just in case anyone wants to share their unfavorable opinion and because something has to be a surprise, we decided to keep it a secret. But, I’m not going to lie, it is hard and I could break sometime in the next 17 weeks. We picked out her name before we knew that she was a she. Boy names were much harder for us to agree upon, especially since we already chose two earlier this year that we really love.

The first picture is my mom pregnant with me in 1983. When I saw a similar shirt at Target, I had to get it.

My parents have told me I was almost a Meghan. Then it came down to Kristin or Kristal which is how they compromised on my name. I like that my name is kind of unique.

I’ve mentioned before that I am fascinated by names. I love hearing what people like and dislike. I love hearing what celebrities pick. And there have been some great celebrity baby names lately.

  • Penelope Athena: The name of Tina Fey’s newest daughter. But, of course, I’m going to love anything Tina Fey does.
  • Haven Garner: Jessica Alba’s new daughter. I love Haven. I love her other daughter’s name, Honor Marie, just a tiny bit more.
  • In breaking news, Jennifer Garner and Ben Affleck are expecting again. Their daughters, Violet and Seraphina, set a precedent for baby number three having a great name.
  • Two famous bloggers, Heather Armstrong of Dooce and Rebecca Woolf of Girls Gone Child, have picked out awesome names for their kids. Heather’s daughters are Leta and Marlo. Rebecca’s son is Archer, she has a daughter, Fable, and two more children on the way.
  • A couple big family bloggers, Design Mom and Soule Mama, have great sibling sets of names. Gabrille has Ralph, Maude, Olive, Oscar, Betty and June and Amanda has Calvin, Ezra, Adelaide, Harper and Annabel.
  • As for non-celebrities, I think both my sisters-in-law are great baby namers (nieces: Elliana “Ellie”, Annabel “Annie”, and Willow; nephews: Mason and Shay). I’m sure my brothers-in-law had some say in those names too.

A few ideas we played around with but did not end up choosing for this baby were Zoe (means “life” in Greek) and Eden. We thought both went well with the boys’ names (as does the one we chose). There are lots and lots of other names I love but they don’t mesh well with the boys’ names so those will have to be for someone else’s babies.

Feel free to take a guess. The only hint we have given is that it is Biblical. So, for now, we refer to her as Hagar.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 9:14 am

    So excited! Maybe you can return the favor and accidentally say the name out loud when I’m around :))

  2. August 30, 2011 9:33 am

    It’s Rahab, isn’t it?

    In all seriousness, we were the same way about Griffin’s name. I didn’t tell one person, but that’s probably because he wasn’t named until he was about 15 minutes old. Tyler and I went back and forth between Griffin and Graham, but in the end, he was just a Griffin and I’m so glad. Even if we’d picked his name before he was born, we would have still kept it a secret because people don’t think and will give you their opinion no matter what. I’ve found that once the name is on the baby, most people won’t say anything negative. And if they do, I would feel the need to reevaluate whether or not I want to keep in touch with them. 🙂

    There is always something that people will do that will irritate you. Currently, it’s hearing that I have a “beautiful little girl” about once per day even though he is clearly wearing boy clothes. Maybe I’m too sensitive. Ha!

    I know Baby Girl will have the perfect name and I can’t wait to hear it!

    • August 30, 2011 9:36 am

      I have a friend with a Griffin and her older son is Graham 🙂

  3. April permalink
    August 30, 2011 4:18 pm

    Elliana……absolutely beautiful! When we got our baby girl at 5 days old, we nicknamed her Ellie because her given name was not really pronounceable. Now, 18 months later, it is looking like we will be able to adopt her and we have been so torn about what to do about her name. She knows Ellie as her name but we want something more than that. I think you have given us our solution!!! Thanks.

    • August 30, 2011 5:12 pm

      I agree that Elliana is really pretty and I love the nickname Ellie. My niece’s name is Eliza so I’ll probably try to avoid El… names for any future daughters for us.

  4. August 30, 2011 5:13 pm

    Hagar! lol!

  5. August 31, 2011 10:53 pm

    I had forgot to save your blog back when you had first contacted me and accidentally just stumbled upon it again. Congrats on the upcoming addition!

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

