Skip to content

Saturday Seven (I know it is Monday)

July 18, 2011

I started writing this on Saturday…

1. The boys were at Safety Town last week. They were very excited when I explained to them what Safety Town was but, of course, when I dropped them off Monday morning they both turned into statues. Blank stares and no talking. They didn’t cry or ask me to take them home or anything – they just got completely still. On Wednesday morning when I dropped them off AIB was clingy and telling me he loved me (and he is not our affectionate one). Regardless, the boys seemed to enjoy the week.

2. Thanks to Safety Town, we’ve heard a lot about stranger danger and playground safety this week. They have been randomly pointing to people at Target and telling me, “Those people are strangers. Don’t talk to them.” While at a graduation party Sunday afternoon DIB shouted, “Those kids are not practicing playground safety!” The highlight of their week seemed to be the visit to the fire station where they got to help the firemen with the water hose and a visit from the police officers.

3. Although you are supposed to get your energy back in the second trimester my body has not gotten that message yet. Wednesday afternoon was rough for me and I was dragging. And I had a four year-old who was not interested in making life any easier. So, after I put the kids to bed, I made a personal size portion of Salted White Chocolate Popcorn (forever indebted to Meredith for this recipe) and watched Baby Mama (again). I should probably own this movie.

4. I told D this week that I feel like only about 70% of my brain is working properly. Everything is just a bit hazy. An example: I rolled my mini-van into a BMW on Wednesday while driving the boys home from the library. The BMW moved and then stopped but I didn’t. Why? I have no idea. The man driving the BMW was so kind. There was no damage to his car and just a tiny crack on my bumper. I was so happy he didn’t want to call the police and that he was not mad at me that I hugged him. I hugged a stranger. I wonder what Safety Town would say about that.

5. Something I really don’t like is being a cliché. “Pregnancy brain” and “mom brain” are cliché. It just annoys me because it is true.

6. DIB told me yesterday that he wishes he had been with us when we got married. I told him I wish he would have been there too (he was about six months old when we got married). I told him there was a video of our wedding if he wanted to watch it and he was super excited about that. I doubt he will feel the same way after watching it for about five minutes. It is not nearly as exciting as The Backyardigans.

7. And the most exciting news of last week…we have a court date! We are just a few short weeks away from officially adopting the boys. Hallelujah!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 12:52 pm

    Yay for the court date!!!

  2. Meredith permalink
    July 18, 2011 12:54 pm

    There is so much about this post that I love, I don’t even know where to begin! To giggle and tear up over one blog post….you’d think I was dealing w/ “pregnancy hormones,” myself. Alas….I am not a cliche! I’m just generally overly emotional. And I adore your family maybe more than I should admit 😉

  3. Marcia permalink
    July 18, 2011 1:05 pm

    You hugged a stranger?!?! You are not a hugger to begin with, so that is really funny. You are also really good at remembering the funny things your boys say. They make me laugh.

  4. July 18, 2011 5:00 pm

    Ditto to Meredith’s comment.

    I’m so excited for the boys to be officially yours. What a praise!

  5. Heidi permalink
    July 18, 2011 10:20 pm

    I love your blog posts! Thanks for reminding me of Baby Mama…downloading it to watch now!

  6. Heather M permalink
    July 19, 2011 9:12 am

    I wish DIB was in my class. He seems very “rule-savvy”

    • July 19, 2011 9:15 am

      They know the rules. They don’t always follow them.

Leave a Reply

