Skip to content

If Not You – Who?

June 23, 2011

I’ll be honest. The first draft of this post was a lot longer and more impassioned.  We had to say no to a placement this week and I was feeling emotional about that. There are a lot of reasons why we cannot take another child right now into our home and an equal amount of reasons why we really, really wanted to welcome this child into our home. We had the rare opportunity to have a few weeks to make a decision and we tried to talk ourselves into it in many ways but, in the end, we both came to the conclusion that we knew was the right thing to do for our family at this time. But, I’m not going to lie, it totally sucks.

As you may know, D proofs the vast majority of the posts for me (especially ones that fall under the “ranting” category). Here is the conversation that took place at our house:

Me: I wrote a blog post. You need to read it.

D: What is it about?

Me: How people should become foster parents.

D: I think everyone already knows how you feel about that.

Luckily, this video was posted by Bethany Christian Services the same day I wrote this post. It says it better than I can.

This week I heard about a 16 year old who has had nearly 30 placements in foster care since he was five. I also heard about a girl who has aged out of foster care and is now having her children removed and put into the same system she has grown up in. It breaks my heart and I know it breaks God’s heart too. These are stories that I hear too often and that is why, every once in a while, I have to ask you to consider how your family might help these kids.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. peaceliving permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:38 pm

    You know, sometimes you’re just cruising the internet trying to relax, and you come upon a post like this. I think I need to bookmark youtube videos like these and watch them daily to get re-inspired in the foster parenting journey. I hope you don’t mind that I totally copied you and wrote a post of my own here: http://peaceliving.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/if-not-me-who/ I hope you and your family are adjusting more and more each day to your new normal.

  2. fosterland permalink
    June 24, 2011 8:54 am

    I laughed when I read the short conversation between you and D. I have the same conversation with my sister…how many times I can post a blog post encouraging others to consider fostering? As many times as I feel the urge to do so. 🙂 I’m going to report your blog on mine today. Thanks for posting!

  3. Christine Krieger permalink
    July 5, 2011 3:02 pm

    I get inspired to write my own blog Krysta when I read yours – you advocate for foster parenting so well. As a new foster parent, I feel we’ve gone through some serious ups and downs. But overall – the journey is totally worth it – as it often is when we follow God’s vision.

    • July 5, 2011 3:12 pm

      You have had some major challenges, Christine, and have done great with being flexible. I admire you guys – you have not had it easy at all.

Trackbacks

  1. Oops, I Said It Again. | Adventures in FosterLand

Leave a Reply

