Skip to content

Saturday Seven

January 29, 2011

Ready for some light reading? There has been a lot going on and my brain isn’t ready to put any of my more serious thoughts into blog format yet.

1. Continuing with my goal to make one new recipe a week, Thursday night we had rosemary-lemon chicken (inspired by this recipe) and honey-mustard carrots (inspired by this recipe). I have to say inspired by because I didn’t follow either recipe exactly.

With the chicken, I had a pack of boneless, skinless chicken breast tenderloin. I cut them into small size pieces (think chicken nugget size), tossed them with olive oil, the juice from half a lemon, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, and four small cloves of minced garlic. On a lightly greased baking sheet, I stuck them under the broiler for 10-12 minutes.

For the carrots, I didn’t have Dijon mustard, just honey Dijon. I boiled about 25 baby carrots in water for 15 minutes, drained the water out, melted one tablespoon butter mixed with a tablespoon of honey mustard. Tossed the carrots in and added a small amount of water. I turned the heat way up to make the honey mustard/butter/water combo more saucy. I didn’t add sugar like the recipe suggested.

I liked the chicken and carrots a lot. I served it all with some wild rice from Trader Joe’s. D told me he was glad he didn’t live in an Asian country (I guess he didn’t like the rice). The boys didn’t love it but that was not shocking.

2. D2 and I had a little talk last night (after dinner led to some bad behavior) about eating foods that we don’t love. We talked about how being in a family means sometimes we eat foods that are not our favorite, like when Mommy eats hot dogs because her boys love them. I realized that they still don’t totally understand what a family is even though we have explained that a few times. Still something we are working on.

3. We had our first meeting with our adoption worker this week. It was pretty uneventful but I am so glad to get the process started. She estimated 4-6 months to have things completed. I promptly called our doctor’s office after she left to schedule physicals (required for by D & I to complete things). The woman on the phone said the soonest she could get me in was February 28th. What?!? I told her we were trying to get physicals to complete adoption paperwork and she somehow found appointments on February 4th and 7th. So, I guess that is called playing the “adoption-card.”

4. I have this friend, Katie. She is really cool and younger than me. A few weeks ago, while shopping Old Navy’s 40%-off-clearance-items-deal for the boys, I saw a cute red, gingham shirt (like the one pictured) in the women’s section. I though, “Katie would wear that and look so cute. I’d look like a farmer.” But I bought it anyway since it was about $5. I ran into Katie a few days later and she was wearing a blue-version of the shirt and looking oh-so-cute. So, when she came over the other night, I bravely tried out my shirt for the first time. She approved but I think I still look at bit like a farmer in it.

5. I’m still looking for the “perfect bag” (really stupid, silly problem…I know). After searching Etsy, I’m a bit worried that a cotton, fabric bag won’t hold up for my lifestyle (toting fruit snacks, water bottles, etc.) I saw a new bag from Fossil on jill gg’s good life for less and that got me curious.

(one, two, three & four)

I don’t think I’ve ever spent more than $40 on a bag (and that was in my childless-working-full-time days). But I think a really good bag would be something I could use for a long time. I hoping for sales from Fossil. Maybe some online coupons. A generous donor (just kidding). Any of these four would be fantastic.

6. Kelly’s Korner did a link-up yesterday asking people to share a link to their adoption story. And yesterday, I saw this great post on adoption as well – she is a total inspiration to me. I love hearing other’s stories and learning from other adoptive families.

7. I’ll close with this. Wednesday, night I was approached by A with the question, “Mommy, you be Spider-mahn?”

Can’t say no to that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 6:31 pm

    i saw that red gingham shirt on you the other day. you totally pulled it off without looking like a farmer.

Leave a Reply

