Skip to content

Why I Cried at Work Today…

October 14, 2010

Last spring, I got together with a friend from the church D and I grew up in. She and her husband were interested in foster care and I was just going over there to answer a few questions for her. I thought I was going to be selling her on the idea of foster parenting but after just moments with her, I could tell her mind was already made up. They were doing this, it was just a matter of when and how.

Fast forward to this week, we were sent an email by our agency about a few kids who needed homes. For a bunch of reasons, we have decided to wait until November to take any new kids. But our agency has still been calling (it is their job, we don’t blame them for that) and we have been saying no. And we really hate saying no.

One little guy they emailed us about yesterday has stayed on my heart all day. We talked about him a bit but decided we really needed to stick to the plan of waiting just a few more weeks. I know they find homes for the kids we say no to but we usually don’t get to know the details.

Today we did. I got a message from my friend while I was at work saying they were getting their first placement. She told me about him and I quickly realized it was the little guy I’d been thinking about all day. So I cried at my desk, thankful for the peace only He provides and remembered once again that our God has a plan.

I’m so excited for them I can barely stand it. Keep them in your prayers as they start their journey.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 8:07 pm

    Awww, I have a little story like that but it is still unfolding. As soon as everything is clear, I will share the details. That would make me cry too. šŸ™‚

  2. Emily permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:56 pm

    wow – gave me chills! I talked to her earlier and am hoping to meet their new little guy this weekend. Praying for a smooth transition for everyone. Thanks for sharing this story with us!

  3. Chris permalink
    October 15, 2010 1:25 pm

    Thanks Krysta – that was an inspiring story – Praise Him!

  4. October 21, 2010 11:09 pm

    yay yay yay! chills & teary eyes here, too! He is so good!

Leave a Reply

