Skip to content

What Made the Weekend Even Better…

October 6, 2010

There were two bonuses to attending the Together for Adoption conference this past weekend.

One was being able to see my dear friend, W. When someone asked me, “How did you get into fostering?” I was able to point directly at my friend. We knew nothing about foster care before finding Foster Parenting Podcast a few years ago. They opened our eyes and God used them in a huge way. We met once a couple of years ago so it was so much fun to get to see each other again and record a podcast episode (without the boys).

The second bonus was being able to spend quality time with my mom. She has certainly walked the foster care road with us and they have their own experience with being foster parents to my teenage cousin. She and my dad are involved in their church’s developing foster care and adoption ministry. Plus, we got to eat out, stay in a hotel and see Austin a bit together.

I’m not sure where I would be without the mentorship and support of these two women. It was extra special to get to share such a meaningful weekend with them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:19 am

    I’m so glad that you had such a great time! I was praying for you.

Leave a Reply

