Skip to content

7 Quick Takes Friday

September 10, 2010

Seven great things about this past week…

1. Sunday night we hung out with D’s sister, mom and her two perfect children (Have I mentioned I love my nieces & nephews?) It was fun to see the kids playing and having fun together. We ate pizza, played at the park and then made a run to the DQ. A lovely end to summer.

2. Monday morning we went out to breakfast with my dad. It was also time for T’s morning nap and when you gotta sleep, you gotta sleep.

Sucking his thumb & napping in the booth. Decided my lap was better after 15 minutes.

3. Tuesday after work D and I took a walk to a burger place not too far from out house. The weather was perfectly fall-like and we had a great conversation both ways. Marrying my best friend was a good decision.

4. Wednesday I worked a short day and then headed out to the mall to find shoes and accessories for a dress I’ll be wearing to a work function in late October. No luck with my goal but I did find a couple of cute (and cheap) necklaces at Forever 21.

5. Thursday morning I had breakfast with two friends. We talked about what was going on in our lives, prayed for each other and are now planning to read the New Testament by the end of year together. I’m way off track in my One Year Through the Bible plan (I’ve only made it through half of the Old Testament) but I think with the accountability I should be able to accomplish this new goal.

In addition to the encouraging morning I had with these two friends, I was blessed by this post by Ann Voskamp who is blogging through her trip to Guatemala with Compassion International. (Warning: be prepared to cry).

6. Today is my husbands 28th birthday! I let him open his present last night – Nutter Butters, Mint Milanos and a laptop sleeve for his new computer that will arrive next week (the laptop is from work, not from me). He is off to celebrate his birthday by speaking on a retreat for middle school students this weekend. Spending the weekend with dozens of tweens may sound like torture to some but that is D’s kind of fun.

7. D and I have had a lot of time together this week just the two of us (the kids are gone on a long visit with their birth mom). We have been together for seven years (and have know each other for almost fifteen). I’m still awestruck at how incredibly kind he is to people. It is not often you find someone who is authentically kind. I cannot help but think of D when reading Micah 6:8 and I’m so glad I get to witness his example.

He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness and to walk humbly with your God?

*Hosted at Conversion Diary
One Comment leave one →
  1. jenlynnatkins permalink
    September 10, 2010 10:53 pm

    Beautiful post! I agree – Dan is a keeper….and he was wise to marry such a godly, kind hearted woman!

Leave a Reply

