Skip to content

7 Quick Takes Friday

August 27, 2010

Total randomness…

1. I wanted to say something about Dr. Laura last week. I used to listen to her show. The more I listened to her, the more I disagreed and the angrier I got. After hearing the conversation with the caller that caused all the controversy last week, I’m really glad I stopped listening to her a long time ago. Anyway, this kid really says it all:

2. Maybe you like Dr. Laura but you don’t like what she said. Does this discredit her authority to you? She has written a lot of books that many people like. Last year, I had interaction with a well-known pastor that caused me to stop listening to his sermons and reading his books. I’m guessing I agree with him on the about 90% of things but this one thing really irked me. Maybe I’m too hard on people. I would hope people would grant me more grace than I’ve extended. Sometimes I’m really stingy and selective about forgiveness and mercy. Anyone else have this problem? It is probably time for me to reconsider my take on this guy.

3. We are working on a wall in our room to put pictures of all the kiddos that come into our lives through foster care. We are planning to do this on the wall opposite of our bed. It will have three picture ledges and I thought it would be nice to incorporate some verses. Thankfully, I have an incredibly talented friend who was able to work this out for us. Check out Heather’s new Etsy shop, pipe | up, for all your creativity needs.

4. We are working on a third verse for this project. D says it has to be something from the New Testament. Any suggestions?

5. D sent me this gem from Desiring God today. And I also really excited that I finally figured out how to post videos on the blog.

6. I stumbled on Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow line this week and think I’ve finally settled on some fabrics for bedding for the crib. Right now, the crib is in the blue room but it may move back to the yellow room at some point. I’m planning a double-sided crib skirt that can be rotated based on which room it is in at the time. Here are my favorites from the line:

7. I’m ready for the fall. I love jackets and sweaters and scarves. I bought a classic wardrobe staple with my Gap Groupon: a new jean jacket. Gap has their models wearing these jackets with jeans, which I find awkward. I’ve opted to wear it with a dress or khakis. Anyone else find anything fun with their Gap Groupon? There was not much that interested when I was in the store this week. The style there seems to have changed quite a bit.

*Hosted at Conversion Diary

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 7:31 pm

    I didn’t get the Gap groupon because I rarely shop there anymore and thought I might buy something that I didn’t really want, just because of the coupon. And that would be a cardinal coupon sin! 🙂

    • August 28, 2010 8:23 am

      This is the only coupon I’ve used in a long time. I can’t keep up with it! Plus, I’ve only been shopping at Trader Joe’s & the farmers market lately.

  2. Meredith permalink
    August 28, 2010 2:00 am

    Krysta….in response to #2, I would just like to say that you are not alone! I am HORRIBLE at extending grace, and find it a little ironic that I am just now reading this post, as I JUST tweeted something very similar to this! Also, I just read a devotional on Matthew 6:14-15, which I am confident God placed in my path at just the right time. Here is a little taste of what was included in the devo….

    “The bible says forgive and be forgiven. In fact, Jesus says “If you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive the wrongs you have done” (Matt 6:15). They’re inter-related. It reminds me of the story where someone told John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, “I just can’t forgive that person! They hurt me too badly.” Wesley’s response was “Then I hope you never sin.”

    Just a snippet from the devo, but worth passing along, I think?! Tell you what…I’ll pray that God really uses the Holy Spirit to work in you to extend grace more often….and you pray that He moves in me in the same way?! 😉

  3. August 28, 2010 9:03 pm

    This may be a long shot, but I have repeated “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth” over and over in my head for a few years. I think it applies to what you have done and will do for your foster children, because you are acknowledging their blessedness. They are unable to do much for themselves, they are at the mercy of others, and they depend on you. God sees them as no one else does and will give them (in some mysterious way) a special place of honor.

    Also important, it’s short and could pack some design punch. I will not be offended if you don’t use it 🙂

  4. August 30, 2010 4:08 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! I’m so glad you like the designs…can’t wait to see the arrangement come together.

    Love the new jacket and your fabric selections for the crib. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Style Friday | proverbs thirty:eight

Leave a Reply

