Skip to content

7 Quick Takes Friday

April 16, 2010

Writing a well thought out, coherent blog post is not very feasible lately. So, here are seven quick takes…

1. If you are friends with us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter, you know that we have had some success this week using Supernanny’s Bedtime Method. You can read all about it at the link, but here is how we are doing it at our house.

  • We have a routine that involves the following: diaper change, lotion, pajamas, teeth brushing, reading two books (Bear Snores On & The Rhyme Bible Storybook), prayers, cuddles
  • Up until this week we have been staying in M’s room until she falls asleep. But sneaking out when she fell asleep was stressful and took a LONG time. We are sticking around for less than five minutes now.
  • When we leave, we give her a kiss and say goodnight. She starts crying.
  • She gets up and stands at the door. We go back in, tell her it is time to go to sleep, give her a hug, and lay her back down.
  • If she gets up again, we go in, firmly tell her it is time to go to sleep, quick hug and lay her back down.
  • Every time she gets up after that, we go in a lay her down without talking to her or making eye contact. This goes on until she stays in bed.

It has worked at bedtime wonderfully. The first night we went in 20 times, the second 2, a few nights only once and tonight 11 times. It work at nap time yesterday but not today at all. But because she didn’t nap, bedtime was an hour earlier. We are pretty happy with the progress even if we still have some tough times.

2. Speaking of sleeping, T sleeps like a champ. After his late evening feeding (10 pm – 11 pm), he is sleeping until around 5:30 am. When he wakes, he needs to be soothed but does not necessarily need to eat and we can usually get him to sleep another hour or so. Last night, he slept until 6:40 am. I think that is pretty good for an eight week old.

3. Thanks for all the suggestions on our last post. It is so nice to get some advice from those who have been there. Keep it coming!

4. Shout-0ut to my friend, Carrie, who lent me Gilmore Girls: Season One. I’ve been watching it while I feed T (which can take a while). I know lots of people who love this show and so far, I like it. Also, I’m enjoying re-living the early 2000s through the music, clothes and references in the show.

5. I’m sure you have heard about the child who was sent back to Russia by his American adoptive family. The whole story is so sad. I have so many questions for the family who sent him back and for the agency who did that adoption.  What is even more frustrating is all the reports coming out now on orphans from Eastern Europe having attachment disorders and/or fetal alcohol syndrome. Of course families need to be made aware of these risks and how to deal with them but I don’t feel like the media is helping out the orphans of Russian at all by emphasizing these possible challenges. The thing is that adoption is about the kids not the parents. For pro-life, Christians, especially, we must understand that despite a child’s challenges, they still deserve love and have a much better chance in life with a family than in an institution.  I am not saying this to be judgmental as I certainly do not know what it is like to raise a child who physically threatens you or your family.  But if we really think everyone deserves a chance at life, that has to extend past our views of what happens in the womb. Those are just my thoughts; I know it is an incredibly complicated issue.

6. Now to go totally off topic and be random, a friend made us dinner a few weeks ago and one of the sides was roasted carrots with pistachios. I ate them all. Seriously, I mean, I did not share them (I tried to give them to M but she is not a carrot fan). I’ve been googling “carrots and pistachios” and have found several recipes that I cannot wait to try.

7. I went to Trader Joe’s with T last Saturday and was overwhelmed by the attention he attracted. I can’t blame people because he is, in fact, the cutest baby on the planet, but it was a little shocking for my introverted-self. The cashier even offered to carry out my groceries for me.

We are really hoping to podcast soon. Really, I’m not just saying that. D is wrapping up his semester and it is at the top of our “to do list” next week. Thanks for all the prayers!

*Hosted at Conversion Diary

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 9:06 am

    Your bedtime experience with M reminds me of when Tim and Wendy talked about something like that on the podcast. You guys are doing great. T and M are blessed to have you and you are blessed to have them! We continue to pray for you guys!!

    • April 18, 2010 4:38 pm

      Yes, we steal ideas from T&W ALL THE TIME! So thankful for that podcast…for many, many reasons.

      Also, Rachel, for some reason your comments go to our “spam” folder. I don’t want you to think I am ignoring them. I just don’t see them right away.

  2. April 16, 2010 4:14 pm

    Quick-Cooked Carrots with Orange and Pistacios (from The Best Recipe)
    1 pound carrots, peeled, ends trimmed, and sliced on the diagonal, 1/4 inch thick
    1/4 cup fresh orange juice
    1 t. orange zest
    2 T. unsalted butter
    1 t.-1T. sugar
    1/2 t. salt
    1/4 cup toasted pistacios
    ground black pepper
    1 T. minced fresh parsley leaves
    In 10-inch skillet, bring carrots, orange juice and zest, sugar and salt to boil over medium-high heat. Cover and cook 3 minutes. Uncover skillet, continue to cook over medium-high heat until remaining liquid evaporates, about 1 minute. Add pistachios. Saute carrots until tender (and to flavor them with butter and bring out their sweetness), 1-2 minutes longer. Season to taste with pepper , sprinkle with parsley, and serve.

  3. April 18, 2010 7:12 pm

    I think it might be a Trader Joe’s thing. We seriously cannot get through that store without ladies swarming us.

  4. April 18, 2010 7:58 pm

    You’re doing great. I know it isn’t easy to let your child cry, but it really is best for them. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

