Skip to content

Food, Lately

January 18, 2010

I do just love to cook. Especially anything with vegetables because I love chopping. I could do it all day long. Is that weird?

I’m back to meal planning. I got out of habit a while back but it really is a great way to save yourself from searching the kitchen at 5:00 pm and it generally saves me a few bucks too.

A couple weeks ago, I decided to try out this recipe from Tasty Kitchen (the Pioneer Woman’s cooking community) mostly because I had a pork roast in my freezer that needed to be used.  I purchased it impulsively at Meijer when it was on sale.  Also, I’ve used my crock pot like four times since we received it as a wedding gift over three years ago and I was long overdue on learning how to use it.

I had to adapt the recipe a bit based on what I was working with.  Here is my version:

Southern Pulled Pork

  • 1 pound boneless pork roast (mine was pre-seasoned w/salt & pepper from Meijer)
  • 1-2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning (I had to cut back on the original amount due to someone in our house with a sensitive palette)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 onion, chopped (I think I actually used a shallot that was leftover from something else, but an onion is probably a better option)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • (the original recipe calls for Liquid Smoke but I didn’t have any)

1. Cut the pork roast into four large chunks. Season with Cajun seasoning (and salt & pepper if your roast isn’t pre-seasoned). Melt butter in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add pork and brown on all sides. Remove from pan and transfer to crock pot.

2. Add the onion and garlic to the frying pan and cook until tender. Add a little bit of the broth to the pan and scrape the browned pork bits from the pan. Pour the mix into the crock pot along with the rest of the broth.

3. Cook on low for 10 hours. Pork should fall apart when pierced with a fork (The internal temperature of pork should be 160 – 170 degrees). Shred with forks and return to crock pot to keep warm.

It took me about ten minutes to prep this before leaving for work one morning and then it just cooked all day. You could serve this on a bun with coleslaw but it is good on its own. D ate a ton of it. I think it would serve 3-4 adults.

Last Wednesday, on my afternoon off, I decided to take on this soup from Simply Recipes. Again, I adapted it a bit but it appealed to me because of all the vegetables that needed chopping. I ate the soup for lunch several times last week and took it to the camp we spent the weekend at with our youth group as a gluten-free alternative to the camp food. While I was eating it at lunch on Saturday, I was informed by the kids that it looked “disgusting.” I thought it was pretty tasty.

I feel like I should be honest and tell you that one meal last week was almost exclusively cooked in the microwave and on one night, after he got home late from class, I made D Kraft Mac & Cheese. Not every night allows the time for new recipes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 9:13 am

    We managed to make the pulled pork last for four meals between the two of us. (We had it on buns mostly.) I’ll be making this again and freezing it for an easy meal after the baby arrives. It’s delicious! K, dear, do not feel bad about Kraft Mac & Cheese. We have oatmeal or cold cereal at least once a week. Sometimes, I think Ross prefers that…maybe that’s just because those types of meals typically mean less dishes for him to clean…

Leave a Reply

