Skip to content

Style Friday

December 4, 2009

Warning: If you are a guy, you probably just want to move on to something else. Here is a link to ESPN.

I am getting a really cute pair of boots for Christmas (I know because I picked them out & ordered them during Nine West’s Online Black Friday sale). And, last week, I did something  I thought I would never do: I bought a pair of leggings. I still haven’t taken the tags off yet so no real commitment has been made. I thought I’d wait out the trend but I don’t think leggings or skinny jeans are going any where for a while. The thing is that I hold to the belief that leggings are not pants. They must be paired with an appropriate longer top/sweater, tunic or dress. Let me demonstrate:

I think the first picture is a girl from The Hills or one of those MTV shows. She appears to be wearing some acid-washed jeans/legging hybrid. Yikes.

Yesterday, I bought this dress (for way less than this on clearance) at Parisian. I got home, tried it on with the leggings and the boots and I can’t decide if I look crazy or cute. I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea; I pretty much never wear patterns. I’ll figure it out later.

I found a few others online tonight that would be good for work:

(by Kensie & Cha Cha Vente)

And these two from Anthropologie that would be good to wear anywhere:

(In-A-Moment & Reed)

I’d love more suggestions as I venture into the world of leggings. If all goes well, I may even give skinny jeans a try one day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    December 5, 2009 9:12 pm

    There is a really cute dress at Charlotte Russe that I really, really liked for an “anytime” dress. I think it would actually look really good on you. Unfortunately, they didn’t have my size. However, it is super cute and I think you could definitely pull it off…probably better than I could anyway. Your hair would go well with it. Hope you like it:
    http://www.charlotterusse.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3783436

    Even though Charlotte Russe tends to be a “teen” store, you can find some really cheap, trendy clothes so if they go out of style –oh well!

    • December 5, 2009 11:39 pm

      Heather – that dress is so cute! I need to go there with you. You always have such cute clothes.

  2. December 6, 2009 1:12 pm

    I think the dress and boots would look really cute on you! I’d also think I looked crazy in it, but be confident–it’s very trendy!! All I wear is “mom clothes” so I’m a little jealous… 🙂

    • December 6, 2009 10:15 pm

      I returned the dress but I found a much cuter (and cheaper) one at Target. I wore it to a baby shower on Saturday w/leggings and some flats (since I don’t have the boots yet). It was fun to be trendy.

Leave a Reply

