Skip to content

Goodnight and joy be with you all.

December 3, 2009

Wednesday night D was kind enough to give me the night off from middle school youth group so that I could go see The Swell Season with Meghan. Although I am not the least bit musical myself, I really do love good music and concerts. And back in the day when all my income was basically disposable, that is what I spent it on. I have since become too frugal and picky. I’m no longer willing to pay $100+ to sit in a huge stadium and see a band who is past their prime (Ahem, Coldplay. Yeah, I just said that).

Glen and Marketa gained a great deal of fame with their film, Once, which is where I first learned of them. I had just heard an incredibly awkward interview with them when Meghan asked if I wanted to go to the show with her. You see, Glen and Marketa were a couple for a while and now they are not but they still play, write and make music together, a lot of which is about love or love gone wrong. I have no clue how it works but I am glad that it does.

Glen is just incredibly like-able. Gracious and thankful to the audience and happy to be able to make a living playing music. His original group, The Frames, is the band for Marketa and him. I like that he didn’t leave his pals behind when fame struck. Marketa is very soft-spoken and simple (and, I mean that in a nice way). Her voice is perfect. Seriously, perfect.

I am so glad that I got to go (thanks, D!) and I hope that Meghan will put the experience into more eloquent words than I can (because she is really good at doing that).

They closed with this song, The Parting Glass, an old Irish drinking song (and, as explained to us, sometimes also sung at wakes).

Of all the money that ere I had, I spent it in good company.
And of all the harm that ere I’ve done, alas was done to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit, to memory now I cannot recall.
So fill me to the parting glass. Goodnight and joy be with you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

