Skip to content

Reunion

November 16, 2009

On Saturday night, I had a “mini-reunion” with five other girls who we graduated with from high school. I wanted to make something seasonal and special so I picked this recipe out from the Food Network Magazine: Turkey Roulade with Swiss Chard. About a hour before my guests arrive, I realized I was in way over my head but it was too late to turn back. I tried to remember to take pictures but never ended up with one of the final product.

dsc_12941

It all started off so easy. Chopping up vegetables and mixing together seasonings – simple. But when it came to the actual turkey, I realized I really did not know what I was doing.  In the end, I ended up with two dishes.  One prepared the way the recipe called for and one “improvised.”  There were moments of panic but it ended up tasting pretty good so that is all that really matters. Plus, my guests were all kind enough to bring delicious side dishes.

It was so fun to get together and catch up on each other lives. Although, we realized, through the magic of Facebook (and blogs), we had a pretty good idea of what was happening with each other.

High school was not a very enjoyable time in my life but I am thankful for these relationships that have lasted. We are all pretty different and our lives have changed a lot in the last nine years but it was encouraging to see the way God has directed all our paths. I am looking forward to seeing them all again (but hopefully it won’t take another nine years).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 3:11 pm

    It was delicious, Krysta! What was in the filling besides chard? I think I see rosemary and lemon and some sort of cheese in that pic?

    • November 16, 2009 3:31 pm

      Oh, lots of stuff…pancetta, basil, parsley, nutmeg, garlic, etc. The cheese was a Gruyere. I loved your appetizer!

Leave a Reply

