Skip to content

7 Quick Takes Friday

October 30, 2009

These are all going to be adoption and foster care themed because that is what is on my mind right now. I’ll try to be brief.

1. Some part of the egress window is on backorder until November 10. I don’t even want to talk about it. It is no one’s fault; it just sucks. I’m going to call our licensing worker to see if there is anything we can do in the meantime to keep things rolling. Pray that it does not get delayed anymore, please.

2. Some people are going to need to see our lives as foster parents lived out before they come around to supporting us and I need to be okay with that. Some people may never come around and I need to be okay with that as well.

3. Something to think about: you would not imply to a person who comes to adoption through infertility that they are not a real parent. You probably should not imply or state this to someone who comes to adoption through a calling or by choice. It seems to be a cultural myth that pregnancy and child birth are necessary for bonding and maternal love.

4. Something I find myself praying for the kids and their birth parent(s) lately is: Lord, help me to see them as You do. My guess is all parents would benefit from this prayer at different points in their childrens lives.

5. I just listened to Pastor Joel’s sermon on parenting from a few weeks ago. One of his points about parenting was that it is stewardship, not ownership. Your kids belong to God, not you. Sometimes you are going to have to let them fail or get hurt and sometimes you are going to have to let them go.  So whether kids are with us or with birth parents or with a family member, it does not change to whom they belong.

6. On Wednesday, I was lecturing Marcia about letting go of her plans and resting in God’s plan, even if she does not like it or know all the details. It’s point number six and I’m still thinking about the egress window. Mmm, taste of my own medicine.

7. Isaiah 1:17
Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.

*Seven Quick Takes Friday is hosted at Conversion Diary

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

