Skip to content

The Downside of Growth

May 8, 2009

I am working on an Israel post (4 months late), but there are a lot of pictures to get through and I just reformatted my computer. So that will come later. Instead I thought I’d share a thought I’ve been having recently.

I have been at Bell Creek working with Middle School and High School students for 4+ years. I love working with these kids. It is a highly entertaining job. We have seen a decent amount of growth this past year with both groups (At some other time I need to write out my thoughts on growth, numbers, success, faithfulness, etc – It will probably be a “K-style” rant).

In looking at our “numbers” over the month of April, we have had 50 different students attend at least one Wednesday night Middle School youth group. This is exciting. I am definitely thrilled to see the growth.

However, I have found myself thinking about the downside to this growth as well. In the past, I knew that I could have a conversation with every student that would be at youth group. I knew that I would have a personal connection with each student and get a chance to show them that I valued them. I had a chance to not just run some program, but to build relationships (in varying degrees) with every student. But the past two days I’ve been thinking about the students that I didn’t get a chance to talk to personally this past Wednesday.

I’m really excited that neighborhood kids are coming to Bell Creek and finding out that Church isn’t boring and that God actually cares about all that they are facing. But I think this happens most effectively when a student has some personal interaction and a friendship with someone (or for you church folks – relational ministry). We are at a point that I can’t do that for every student. Which is good, but frustrating.

The good news is that, including K (who works full time and yet is at every meeting/event we ever do), there are 6 other people besides me that give of themselves to let these kids know they are valued and that God cares deeply about them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brantley permalink
    May 9, 2009 7:43 am

    dude… that awesome man. i really think that is way cool that more people are coming. i think it is really important for our culture to experience the real Jesus and not the assumed “bobblehead” “jesus is my homeboy” Jesus. but i very much resonate with your thoughts on “relational ministry.” if you look at Jesus life he spent almost all of his time discipling, teaching, and most of all perfectly loving 12 of his followers. i encourage you to make this the largest part of your ministry. i really believe that is the biggest way we can change lives. i have seen it with people that have taken me aside and discipled me and loved me. it is the greatest gift anyone has ever given me. and maybe that is a little discouraging in some ways because it is a lot of work for just a couple people and you aren’t necessarily radically changing lives by the thousands. but i know that my life has been changed by this type of love that people have shown me. but what is encouraging is this verse…

    18 He said therefore, “What is the kingdom of God like? And to what shall I compare it? 19It is like a grain of mustard seed that a man took and sowed in his garden, and it grew and became a tree, and the birds of the air made nests in its branches.”

    much love to you dan. you encourage me. i would love to catch up with you via not blog sometime. word.

  2. Meghan permalink
    May 12, 2009 4:30 pm

    YES.

Leave a Reply

