Skip to content

Ch-Ch-Changes

March 3, 2009

If you are not a David Bowie fan (and most of you probably are not) then you may not get the title of this post but I’ve had this song stuck in my head for the last couple of weeks. Because things are changing. I think that is part of the reason that turning 26 was freaking me out a bit – I know this is going to be a year of changes.

All the market research I’ve read tells me that as part of Generation Y, I am supposed to love change. I gladly embrace change when it makes my life easier. But when I think change might make my life harder, when I think that it may make things uncomfortable, when I think that a change might make people judge our decisions…it makes me anxious. But when God is asking you to make a change, it is something you have to do (well, you don’t have to but then you might end up like Jonah).

Tomorrow we are going to our foster care orientation meeting. This is the first step to adopting children which is something we have known for a long time that God wants us to do. This is just the first step in what we know will be a long, challenging, crazy, and rewarding journey.

I have read so many adoption blogs over the past few years. I’ve heard the stories of people bringing their children home from far off countries. People who have waited and waited for a child. Awesome, amazing stories of God’s divine intervention in the lives of orphans. I cannot say it enough: every child deserves a loving home regardless of nationality, ethnicity, race, age, gender, etc. They all need love. Christians are called to care for orphans. It is our responsibility and we could do a much better job.

Over time, God has directed us to the foster care system and we feel that is where He is going to bring us children. There is a (long) story of how we got to this point. And here is part one of that story:

Prior to dating each other, God put adoption on both mine and D’s hearts. For me, it was as early as my senior year of high school. By my sophomore year of college, I was specifically praying to God for a husband that would be willing to adopt children, including those outside of our race.

In the summer of 2003, D started showing up a lot. He would call me; he would come over to my house and watch TV with my family. It was so weird. I was so confused – I knew I liked him and it seemed like he liked me, but he was slow to act. One evening, I came up with the excuse that I needed him to give me a basketball lesson because I would be “coaching” one of the kid’s teams at our church’s VBS. In hindsight, this is ridiculous. I don’t play sports. While playing the most awkward game of one-on-one basketball ever, Dan mentioned that someday he would like to adopt kids. Remembering my prayers but trying to not overreact to this, I just made a mental note of his comment. A few weeks later he finally asked me out.

After a year or so of dating, it became evident that this was it. We began talking about the future and getting married. Like most engaged couples do, we talked about how many kids we want (we still don’t know). Adoption was always a when (not if) situation.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meghan permalink
    March 4, 2009 1:38 am

    oh my goodness, i’m so excited. please please keep us posted on the meeting and everything else.also, really funny story about the basketball game. i never knew that…

  2. Sylvan ABC permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:46 pm

    Krysta, Wow – that was a great God story, and you know how I just love God stories. I am so excited for you and Dan – I know he has special plans for you and your children. You are a very special couple that I am so glad that I know. I can’t wait to meet those kids that He’s chosen for you to raise up! I’ll be praying – thanks again for the story. Chris

  3. Heather permalink
    March 4, 2009 11:25 pm

    yay! yay! yay! i’m picturing you playing one-on-one…

  4. Shannon permalink
    March 5, 2009 7:21 pm

    That is so awesome! I know someone who knows A LOT about foster care and adoption if you need to talk to her (JK). We are so excited for you guys. We will be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

