Skip to content

I Love This: Peace Like a River

December 17, 2008

I forgot to post last week and this week I am short on time. But I want to recommend the book, Peace Like a River by Leif Enger. I read this book on our honeymoon and it became one of my favorites quickly. Enger is a great storyteller and, although the book was written just a few years ago, it feels much older – already like a classic.

I thought this was a good week to recommend the book in case you have a few days off work and have time to snuggle up with a blanket and something good to read. I recommend some coffee or hot chocolate as well. Reading this book would be a much better use of your time rather than watching reruns on Bravo or TLC (which is sometimes what I am tempted to do).

This book came out a few year’s ago but seems to be re-gaining some popularity because I keep hearing about it on different blogs. In fact, John Piper just wrote a review and I recommend you go read it: Not Heartwarming Christian Fiction.

 

So, if you are doing any last minute shopping and there is a book lover on your list, this would make a great gift. Or check it out at the library for yourself. I’d lend you my copy but I am pretty sure I lent it out to our friend Brad a while ago. I hope he read it. Enjoy your holidays!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

