Skip to content

Book Review: My Little Girl

December 3, 2008

So, not too long ago, Heidi posted about the opportunity to receive free books for writing a book review on your blog. Free books are not something I can pass up on so I signed up as well. You get to pick from several books and have to write a 200 word review on your blog and on a retail site (like Amazon).

Immediatly, I decided to review My Little Girl by Tim McGraw and Tom Douglas. Why you may ask? Well, first of all, I love children’s books. Secondly, I love Tim McGraw. And, three, I wasn’t terribly interested in the other selections.

So, here is my review of My Little Girl:

My Little Girl is a sweet book about Katie and her dad. Katie’s anxiously awaits spending a whole day with her cowboy dad. They visit a “co-op” to see baby animals, eat alphabet soup and just enjoy spending time with each other driving around in a red pick-up truck. The story is sweet but is sort of scattered. It is hard to see how each page connects with each other. It is just sort of a series of events more than a story. The illustrations (done by Julia Denos) are cute and sort of remind me of Precious Moments. I really, really wanted to love this book because it is by Tim McGraw but it fails to be anything very special. The end of the book has a page that says this book was written to inspire fathers and daughters to spend time together and I appreciate the message. If it accomplishes that, then it is worth it. On a side note, as someone who did not grow up playing “princess” it is a bit hard for me to imagine the sugary-sweet Katie. Perhaps there are lots of little girls who could totally relate but it would be nice to see something different.

Reading this book led to a big discussion between D and I about princesses, Barbies and any future daughters we may have. Needless to say, Dan ended the conversation by rolling his eyes at me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    December 4, 2008 2:00 am

    You might be surprised if ever you have a little girl at how much princess can be a part of her make-up whether you encourage, discourage or do nothing at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

