Skip to content

Final Political Post

October 28, 2008

This is the last thing we will post in regards to the upcoming election. It is from Desiring God Ministries and the article is based on this passage:

The appointed time has grown very short. From now on, let those who have wives live as though they had none, and those who mourn as though they were not mourning, and those who rejoice as though they were not rejoicing, and those who buy as though they had no goods, and those who deal with the world as though they had no dealings with it. For the present form of this world is passing away. (1 Corinthians 7:29-31)

 

Go here to read the rest of the article: Let Christians Vote As Though They Were Not Voting

This post is dedicated to D’s brother, Dave. We decided the other night you are a closet Piper fan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:17 pm

    oh no – you’re on to me!!! actually, it was a good article but a little too ‘dispensational’ for me – another article that was good but from another angle would be David Fitch’s blog entry in July – http://www.reclaimingthemission.com/2008/07/not-voting-as-act-of-christian.html (sorry – I don’t know how to post a link)

  2. Krysta permalink
    October 29, 2008 2:57 pm

    First of all, I don’t know what dispensational means. I went to public school so I’m going to have to look that up.I read the link you posted on the blog. Really interesting. He said, “I have no hopes for Christian justice coming through the halls of US government. Neither do I have hopes that Obama will somehow avoid being absorbed by the existing Order of the State.” In my opinion, he has already been absorbed. I wish more people would understand that it isn’t really the job of the government to do the work of the church. His comment pretty much sums up why I cannot endorse or get excited about either of these candidates.

Leave a Reply

