Skip to content

Eye-opening Free Press Article

August 27, 2008

I stumbled across this very well written article on freep.com last week entitled, “Take a breath, then read about teens’ normal sex life.” It’s terrifying in so many ways. While this article is addressing the problems raised in a forum for teenage girls in Detroit, I really believe that these problems are wide ranging and not limited to just inner-city neighborhoods.

I’m sure there are many thoughts on what causes this, who is to blame, and how to go about fixing it. The problem is so devastating, I can’t begin to practically think of ways to fix it.

What I do know is that the Church should be the one who is finding ways to protect these girls and teach them that their identity is found in Christ. He loves them more than they know and their value is found in His self-sacrificing love. I hope I can find ways to help be apart of that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

