Skip to content

Summer Camp Review

July 30, 2008

Just wanted to write a quick update on what happened at Summer Camp. We ended up taking 26 Bell Creek students with us. Some wanted to go, some where a bit more hesitant for a variety of reasons. However, at the end of the week I can confidently say that all of them had a lot of fun and heard the Word of God preached and lived out in a very clear and powerful way. We had 9 students make a decision for Christ. Some of those students already had received Christ but were struggling with if they could lose their salvation or what to do about the doubts they had. It was great to be able to tell them that they could not lose their salvation and that God was big enough to handle all of their doubts.

The main thing I wanted our students to take away from this weekend was that God was bigger and greater than they could ever imagine. God did that and a whole lot more. One night the students had a chance to write a brief testimony/life change that they had made or were going to make. They wrote their “before” on one side of a card and their “now” on the opposite side. Our students wrote some really powerful things that God taught them. These are especially powerful knowing some of the difficult home lives a couple of these students come from. I figured I’d post some of them now and maybe post some others later on. So here are a few of them:

Before: I thought that if I was having a hard time God could not help me…
Now: I know He can.

Before I used to swear…
Now: I’m trying to stop.

Before: I could not handle the bad things in my life…
Now: I know God will be with me and I can now.

Before: I thought that in order to be saved you could not have doubts…
Now: I know doubts are normal and I will still be saved.

Before: I let distractions get in the way of reading the Bible…
Now: I will do everything I can to put the Bible first.

Please pray that these students can implement these changes into their lives now that they are home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Baughman Family permalink
    August 5, 2008 5:26 pm

    That is so amazing Dan that your students were touched so deeply by God. Keep up the good work and we’ll be praying!

Leave a Reply

