Skip to content

Unplugged: Day 3 & Day 4

June 27, 2008
I have to be honest. I sort of wasted Day 3. I worked all day, came home briefly and went to youth group. I mean, it wasn’t a total waste as I did get to see Ellie and witness her new walking skills. And I did get to hang out with some cool kids at junior high youth group. But by the time I got home last night, I was tired and cranky. I mindlessly looked at more stuff on Etsy for an unreasonable amount of time. I didn’t read my Bible, I didn’t pray and I didn’t even do my physical therapy exercises. All I did was go to bed in a bad mood. Sorry, God, for wasting a day. And sorry, D, for taking the brunt of my crankiness (and, yes, I did verbally apologize to him and am not just doing so on the blog).

 

Thankfully, today is a new day. It started off much better. I listened to a sermon by Mark Driscoll this morning on temptation. This is part of a series he did on Philippians called The Rebel’s Guide to Joy. Each sermon has ended with a biography of a pastor or writer. Most of the biographies have been of men from quite a while ago (like the 1700 or 1800s) but the sermon on temptation ended with a biography on, my man, Johnny Cash.

 

Oh, how I love Johnny Cash. Something about him reminds me of my O’Pa and my southern roots (my mom is from Arkansas). Johnny Cash lived a good 15-20 years of his life as a total mess – addicted to drugs, alcohol, women and self-worship – even though he had great success. It was a great way to start the day – to hear someone who faced temptation and overcame. In his autobiography, Cash, Johnny wrote:

It’s an ongoing struggle, I do know though, that if I commit myself to God every morning and stay honest with Him and myself, I make it through the day just beautifully.

 

I’m tempted all the time to be lazy, to feel sorry for myself, to give in to my anxieties and just sit around worrying about tomorrow. So far, none of this has worked out too well for me and they definitely don’t lead me to a life of joy. All that to say, the sermon and biography were perfect for me this morning after a day when I was pretty guilty of giving into my temptations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

