Skip to content

Unplugged: Day 1 & Day 2

June 25, 2008

Between D and I, we have a pretty large library of books. Many that have not been read. I am a list maker and am also very reliant on my iGoogle Homepage to keep track of my life. On my homepage, I have a Books to Read list that has gone un-checked for months and is fourteen books long. I believe D has two books he has been reading on and off for a few months: God in the Wasteland and Don’t Waste Your Life. In addition to spending time reading the Bible and in prayer, I think this week is good time to get back in to our books.

Yesterday was our first full-day of the Unplugged Challenge. It was not too bad. I came home and made a delicious dinner: penne brown rice pasta with fresh pesto (made from the basil in my “garden”) and roasted tomatoes. I listened to the newest episode of This American Life while I ate.


After dinner, I did a little cleaning, read through Colossians and did my physical therapy exercises. These exercises are so BORING. I browsed Etsy for a while and then decided to give Vintage Jesus another shot since I only made it through the first chapter. I read a bit and then became very sleepy. Reading has this effect on me, especially at night. I fell asleep pretty early…like 10:00 pm. But getting some extra sleep is not a bad thing for me as I usually only get 5 – 6 hours of sleep at night.

Today was easy. I was at work all day, made dinner when I got home and then met Chris and Heather at the Plymouth Coffee Bean for our Bible study. We finished our study on Philippians a few weeks ago and are now going through Colossians. In reading Colossians, I have determined that John Piper must like Colossians a lot because it focuses on the supremacy of Christ in all things. When I read some of the verses, I hear them in John Piper’s voice because I have heard him say these things in sermons. My favorite verse in our study so far is Colossians 2:8 which says:

See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to the human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the world, and not according to Christ.

 

I guess this verse struck me because of instances where I see Christians adding to and taking away from the message of Christ based on worldly philosophies. In some ways it is obvious, but in other ways I think it creeps into our thought process without us even knowing. It is the constant challenge of being in the world but not of the world. Which leads me to the next verse that struck me (and was also what Dan shared with Kids’ Creek this past Sunday) – Colossians 1:9 which says:

And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding.

 

To have a proper filter and be able to properly determine truth we must be “filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding.”

I wasn’t home, but from what D told me he spent the night talking on the phone, hanging out with one of the kids from the youth group who lives in our neighborhood and observing all the activity on our street. Now he’s back to reading his book.

So, that was Day 1 & 2. More to come…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Baughman Family permalink
    June 25, 2008 6:12 am

    preach it, sistah!!!

Leave a Reply

