Skip to content

Chicago

June 3, 2008

D and I were able to get away for the weekend and return to Chicago where we spent many weekends when we were dating when Dan was attending Moody Bible Institute. We stayed right in the city at Moody. The first thing we did was head out to Portillo’s for dinner. The restaurant is split into two sections: hot dogs and Italian…a great way to start out our visit.

Then we walked around the city a bit and took some pictures, including this one of the new Trump Building, which is ridiculously massive.

On our way back toward Moody, we walked past the Apple store which was closing. I said to D, “I wonder if this is the one that Shelli works at.” And, sure enough, we looked in the window and saw Shelli getting ready to leave. Shelli came out of the store and we were so excited to see each other. I finally got to meet her boyfriend, Jeff, and see their apartment in Old Town.

The next morning, we woke up and got breakfast on our way downtown to shop. While we were in line at Starbucks (D had Dunkin’ Donuts), we listened to a six year old girl order her own fancy drink at the counter. I thought it was hilarious and cute; Dan thought it was sad. We did a little shopping until Dan could not take it any more and then headed to Lincoln Park to visit our friend, Rob and his fiancee, Elizabeth. We had another great meal at Kirkwood with them and then headed to the Lincoln Park Zoo (which is free)! 

Now, I love the zoo. I love seeing all the animals and D just laughs at how excited I get about them. It was packed on Saturday because the weather was so nice. I took a lot of pictures with my new camera and we headed back to where we were staying to rest a bit before dinner at Soprano’s. Soprano’s is my favorite restaurant. The marinara sauce there is simply unbeatable. But as you know, I cannot have traditional pasta and almost never eat at Italian restaurants anymore. However, Soprano’s was kind enough to let me bring my own (rice, potato and soy) pasta. I had a dish that included eggplant, goat cheese, marinara sauce and red wine. There are no words. If you are ever in Chicago, go to Soprano’s…I cannot stress this enough.

We drove around the city a bit but decided to head back as I could not take anymore walking. Our weekend was a little marred by one thing – I hurt my knee last week in my attempt at running and walking around Chicago all day only made it a lot worse. D was kind enough to walk slowly with me and be patient with my occasional complaints. Other than the knee thing, it was a great weekend.

I’m heading to the doctor tomorrow to figure out my knee but it was well worth it. It was perfect weather for being in the city and a great weekend away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cheryl permalink
    June 4, 2008 12:05 pm

    Looks like you had a great time! Enjoy all those trips before you start a family. Your pictures look great too. Did you tell us what kind of camera you bought? I’m in the market for a new one…and the cookies look fabulous.Oh yes, and one more thing…I love M*A*S*H* and absolutely don’t get the Office :-0

Leave a Reply

