Skip to content

Our MLK Jr. Day

January 22, 2013

Yesterday, we had the pleasure of spending a day off as a family. I wanted to take the kids to The Henry Ford Museum for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. The museum is the home of the Rosa Parks bus and a great exhibit on freedom and liberty. And, thanks to Target, admission was free!

rosaparks

I surprised myself a bit by how emotional I got walking through the Civil Rights exhibit. We were explaining some things to the boys as we walked by and I was impressed by how much they already knew from school. The exhibit has two drinking fountains and my six-year old read the word “colored” off of one of them. We explained how people had to drink from different drinking fountains depending on their skin color. It struck me that sixty-years ago, my daughter would have lived a much more privileged life than my sons. I was humbled by the fact that if not for the efforts of MLK Jr. and many others, we may not have the family we have today. Our family lives in peace today because of people who were a voice for justice.

I have many hopes for my children. I want them to love Jesus and know that God loves them. I want them to put others before themselves. I so hope our children will grow up to be a voice against injustice. I hope that when they see the oppressed and weary around them, they will speak up. I hope we are setting that example for them in the way that we live. I came away from MLK Jr. Day with a deeper desire to speak up because sixty years ago someone did that on our boys’ behalf and I’m forever grateful.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    January 22, 2013 2:38 pm

    You ARE setting that example!! So thankful your kiddos, all three of them, are blessed to have you guys as their parents! Thanks for your example to me, and so many of us, as you live your life in obedience and gratitude to the one that makes all things new!! Love you guys! :-)

  2. January 22, 2013 3:51 pm

    This is beautiful! I am struck by those same thoughts as I think of all the kids that will enter into our house in the coming years. I am encouraged by your story, and hope that ours will be as beautiful as yours. Blessings.

  3. January 24, 2013 7:15 am

    Mmmmm, so good. I love that exhibit!!

  4. January 27, 2013 8:50 pm

    I love that you’re blogging again. And I love your perspective on MLK Jr. Day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

