Skip to content

Parenthood (the rest of the season)

January 17, 2013

Let’s hear it for random blogging.

The Braverman’s have really been through a lot this season, amiright? 

We watched Tuesday’s nights episode a day late and I’m sad to see Mark Cyr seems to be back in the picture. I really have a hard time with this guy. Maybe it is the mustache-like thing on his face. Oh well, I have a feeling those two are destined to be together.

Image

I’m mostly invested in the story-line with Julia, Joel, Victor and Sydney this season. I think Crosby may have saved the day in this past episode. Each week, I find myself wanting to recommend so many books and methods and therapies to this family. I think Julia’s had unrealistic expectations for Victor. It is hurtful when our kids don’t fall in love with us immediately (in foster care/adoption) and it is hard when the feelings we expect to have ourselves don’t show up the way we thought they would. I empathize with her so much. I want to grab coffee and tell her, “It will get better. Just hang in there!” I’ve long-learned that it is wrong to expect realistic situations out of TV shows but I think they have done a pretty good job with this issue.

I don’t really know what to say about Drew & Amy except that it made me very sad. I was sad that Drew didn’t really get a choice. I was sad that Amy felt she had no other option. I was sad that their parents were so unaware of what was happening with their kids.

This season is ending up being a very short one and I think that is doing a lot of disservice to Kristina’s story-line. I don’t think they are doing justice to the reality of cancer.

Final quick thoughts…

  • Loved the hilarious dialogue about puberty with Zeke, Camille, Max and Kristina a few weeks ago
  • Loving Amber’s hair recently (and I love her and Ryan together – hope that all resolves)
  • Will we ever see Haddie again?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 12:31 pm

    Yes. I agree. Thank you. Exactly.

    I’ve been tempted to write a post about Parenthood and I think it was because I was missing hearing your perspective.

  2. January 19, 2013 9:20 pm

    I completely agree about Amber’s hair! You are a lot more understanding than me, with good reason, about Joel and Julia’s process. I have been pissed. I have been so frustrated at how isolated they have been, never asking for help and seeming to have ridiculously high expectations. Whyyyy??? But maybe this is how the system really truly is for a lot of families, and I just need to accept that.

    The only other thing that bothers me is how good Kristina’s looking. She’s just a gorgeous, perfectly manicured bald woman.

    And I’ve never been a Jasmine fan, so it’s no surprise she’s having some “leaving and cleaving” issues as we like to say in premarital counseling, heh heh.

    • January 21, 2013 6:53 pm

      Julia’s expectations were definitely too high (as they were in the situation with Zoe last season as well). I think she is coming around. Overall, they need more support to get them through this process.

      I agree about Kristina – it is unrealistic.

      As for Jasmine, both her and Crosby strike me as immature. They are going to learn a lot through marriage (I hope).

  3. marcia permalink
    January 21, 2013 5:13 pm

    Did I miss how Kristina and Adam told Haddie “JK…your mom really wasn’t healthy. We lied to you so you’d to back to college?”
    I really didn’t like that they lied to her. But if they didn’t resolve that issue, then I think that’s weird. Didn’t haddie just show up at Kristina’s hospital bedside and everything was forgotten?
    Maybe I just missed something…

    • January 21, 2013 6:54 pm

      Marcia – they totally glossed over that whole thing with Haddie. I think there are tons of gaps in this season because it is so short.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

